Becoming a Licensed Utah Real Estate Broker

Dec 27, 2013 by

Applicants for a real estate broker’s license must meet a number of requirements before they can begin practicing in the state of Utah, including criminal background considerations, educational and testing requirements, a minimum level of background real estate experience, and of course the appropriate paperwork and fees. Before you begin searching through Utah real estate broker schools to get your training, you should thoroughly familiarize yourself with all of the prerequisite requirements.

Firstly, no applicant can be considered for a license if he or she has committed a felony within the five year period immediately preceding application. This is measured from the date of conviction or plea, or the last date of a prison or jail sentence. Applicants also must not have any involvement in a misdemeanor case of theft, dishonesty, misrepresentation, or fraud within the three years subsequent to application.

Applicants must have a minimum of three years of experience working in real estate, or be able to prove equivalent experience. In addition to this experience, all those seeking licensure must complete 120 hours of approved instruction through a certified pre-licensing school that specializes in real estate training and certification. These 120 hours are further divided into three required parts. The first part covers relevant Utah Law, should consist of 30 hours of instruction, which includes three hours for examinations. Part two introduces would-be applicants to the fundamentals of broker principles, and should be covered over 45 hours of coursework, including four hours for examination. Finally, part three, also consisting of 45 hours of coursework and four hours for examination, should focus on broker-level topics and practices. With a little research, you should not have difficulty finding a number of quality Utah real estate broker schools that offer certified pre-licensing training.

Once all 120 hours have been completed, you will have to sign up to take, and successfully pass, the Broker exam itself, as well as complete and submit all relevant paperwork.  Paperwork that must be submitted to the division include the finished, signed application (this form should be available at testing centers), as well as school certification paperwork, original copies, also signed. These will be issued by the real estate institution that you have chosen. If you have had reason to bypass typical educational requirements, you will submit an Education Waiver instead of a school certificate.

In order to verify your three years of experience, you will need to submit a signed and notarized form of Broker Experience Documentation. In addition, you must prove that you have earned a minimum of 60 experience points over the five year period immediately prior to application. For that five year period, you should also provide full documentation of broker affiliations; submit a completed Broker Verification form, which must be notarized and signed, for each broker an applicant has had business associations with. Be sure that all forms are turned in via sealed envelopes, which the broker has signed across the seal.

Whether you plan to engage in full time study, or would like to find a flexible program that allows you to complete coursework at your own pace, you shouldn’t have any trouble finding a number of Utah real estate broker schools whose programs fit your schedule, budget, and career goals, so you could get started today!

Get started on an independent, rewarding career with Utah real estate broker schools – Institute of Real Estate Education. Explore Utah real estate broker schools, and get the training you need to become a licensed real estate broker.

Be the first to like.

Related Posts

Share This

Shares
Share This